A brief history of the AIA Maui Chapter:

Seven planners, architects, and landscape architects got together for pau hana cocktails, sharing topics of common interests and concerns.

Founders of P.A.L.M. (Planners, Architects, Landscape Architects of Maui):
Stan Gima, AIA
Tosh Ishikawa (County Planning Director)
Hans Riecke, FAIA
Russ Riley, ASLA
Ormond Kelley, AIA
Harry Olson, AIA
Harry Rice

Maui members of the Hawaii Society of the American Institute of Architects (HS/AIA) formally requested to be recognized as an official Section or Chapter component of the American Institute of Architects.
Request was denied.
“Maui Task Force” established at the 1977 HS/AIA State Convention with a budget of $750.00 for Maui programs.

First organizational meeting held with election of officers and adoption of the name “AIA/Maui Members”.

AIA/Maui Members of HS/AIA became a Section Component of the American Institute of Architects on 27 November 1984.

HS/AIA reorganized to become the AIA Hawaii State Council with two chapter components, AIA Honolulu and AIA Maui, and an eventual Big Island Section component.